City Council

Monday 19 June 2023

PRESENT:

Councillor Shayer, in the Chair.

Councillor Ms Watkin, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Carlyle, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Gilmour, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Hulme, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, Dr Mahony, McLay, Moore, Murphy, Nicholson, Noble, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Reilly, Rennie, Ricketts, Salmon, Smith, Stephens, Stevens, Stoneman, Tippetts, Tofan, Tuffin, Tuohy and Wakeham.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Bingley, Mrs Bridgeman, Finn and Sproston.

The meeting started at 1.30 pm and finished at 2.07 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <u>www.plymouth.gov.uk</u>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

10. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

At this point of the meeting, the Lord Mayor held a minutes silence in memory of Mrs Vivien Pengelly who had passed away.

11. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen / Alderwomen

Councillor Hulme joined the meeting at 1.43 pm.

Councillor Evans OBE introduced the nomination of Mr Jonathan Drean, Mrs Lynda Bowyer and Mr George Wheeler to receive the title of Honorary Alderman status and for Mrs Vivien Pengelly to receive the title of Honorary Alderwoman post humorously. The motion was seconded by Councillor Andy Lugger.

Following contributions from Councillors Mahony, Hulme and Stoneman the Council <u>agreed</u> unanimously that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council conferred on Mr Jonathan Drean, Mrs Lynda Bowyer, Mr George Wheeler and Mrs Vivien Pengelly, the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent services to the Council of the said City during the period when they were a Members of the Council.

Councillor Tofan joined the meeting at 1.55 pm

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of Council, offered his congratulations to Mr Jonathan Drean, Mr George Wheeler, who accepted their medals and scrolls and gave short speeches.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of Council, offered his congratulations to Mrs Lynda Bowyer, who was unable to attend the meeting, and to the family of Mrs Vivien Pengelly.

12. Freedom of the City

Councillor Partridge joined the meeting at 2.05 pm

Councillor Tudor Evans OBE introduced the nomination to confer honorary Freedom of the City to The Federation Of Plymouth And District Ex-Services Associations. This was seconded by Councillor Andy Lugger.

The Council resolved, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that, in appreciation of the splendid traditions of The Federation Of Plymouth And District Ex-Services Associations and as an expression of the admiration of the Citizens of Plymouth for their great and glorious achievements in the Service of this Country and of their long and historic association with the City, the Council did confer upon the services the Honorary Freedom of the City of Plymouth. (Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the foregoing honour may be conferred by resolution of the Council passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at the meeting specially convened for the purpose).

The Lord Mayor offered his congratulations to Basil Downing-Waite, who accepted the honour on behalf of the Federation.